Nursery is all done!

Can’t wait to put our baby in here… we’re both so happy with how it turned out… the room is very relaxing and peaceful and just feels so full of promise and hope ๐Ÿ™‚

This is our little changing station… ever since we moved in Mom has referred to this as the changing table… and it is a perfect set up. The bathroom is immediately to the left and we have the diaper genie all set up there. We made sure to have a little bag that holds diapers, wipes and powder so if we decide to change elsewhere we can just scoop up the bag and travel ๐Ÿ™‚

On his or her door a nail waits for the letter of his/her name. Steve and I painted them. I painted the L and P for a girl and he painted the G for a boy.

Inside the room….

I like to think it’s warm and comfortable… cozy and clean. The theme officially is meadow… a combination of turtles, songbird and trees. There are lots of details that mean things to us…let me start from one corner of the room and go around.

The back of the door has chalkboard clouds that currently say “Steve+Angel = Baby”, someday Baby can write on these and play. We also have a white board/magnetic board that says “Welcome Home Baby, We love you- Mommy and Daddy” Soon we can write his/her name there.

Next is an adorable little turtle that Debbie painted for us ๐Ÿ™‚ I love him!

Following the room around finds the crib and our tree. We knew we wanted a tree… we started off with the idea that we wanted a simple graphic tree but then mom started painting and we loved this one. It’s somewhat cartoony and whimsical and perfect. The bird took some debate. As mom will glee-filly tell you there originally was another bird there… more of a pheasant or a partridge. I had pictured more of a songbird so after a lot of angst the partridge was painted over and we got our little bluebird. I hated asking mom to paint over original bird, hence her glee and the story of the murdered partridge. But I love how it looks ๐Ÿ™‚

The bedding is beautiful and so sweet and all of the little stuffed animals await ๐Ÿ™‚

Next we have the china cabinent which has been a huge source of debate. Steve isn’t sure he likes it. I like it very much for a baby and for a little girl. I think if we have a little boy it may have to go eventually. What neither of us like is it takes up so much space. But I do like the storage.ย  Now it has books, baby’s first piggie bank, toys and pictures of family inside ๐Ÿ™‚

Next Baby’s toy hammock filled with new and old. The giant Bee is the first stuffed animal I bought Baby ๐Ÿ™‚

Next the couch. Some people have told us we are genius for having it there… it will be great to sleep on etc. Others have told us it’s ridiculous because it doesn’t rock. We’ll see. Ideally we’d love to have both it and a rocker/glider but there isn’t room. We figure right now the couch is comfortable and we like it. We are still trying where to put a rocker/glider in the house. Nana has kindly offered to give us hers… we can’t figure out a place yet.

Over the couch is the first line from Songbird by Eva Cassidy. It’s Steve’s and my song and part of the inspiration for the room. I love how perfect the song is for Baby. Grace was wonderful enough to paint it up there since a. I am too pregnant to safely climb and b. I wouldn’t trust my handwriting! It looks perfect!

Next we have our little tree…. I found bumble bee lights and strung them up there. We have them on a timer and they glow in the evening. We also have a little turtle that projects stars on the sky. The little wagon was a gift from a friend and it’s so full of toys… none of which we bought. We’ve been so blessed by friends and hand me downs.

And a closet full of clothes…. mostly gender neutral. We have a few boy outfits and a few girl outfits that we got from consignment sales or that hopeful friends or family got us ๐Ÿ™‚

And I love this… my mother painted it when she was pregnant with me ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s very true

There are other little touches like a frame with Baby’s ultra sound picture and the bears given to us for our wedding. Baby has my Lamb doll which was the first thing my Mother bought when she was pregnant for me and one of my favorite toys growing up. There are so many things I can’t wait to share with him/her! And I so hope he/she likes the room. I do the typical mother thing and spend a lot of time just sitting in there waiting. The room is so full of hope and joy. I love that I find Steve in there too, just relaxing and soaking up the atmosphere we’ve created!!

When baby first arrives he/she will be sleeping in our room in this bassinet. The bassinet is special because it is the one that Clinton and I both slept in as babies. I just can’t wait to lay our baby here!

ย Lots of friends waiting….

Also very special is this cradle. My Poppop made it for my mother when she was expecting me. My brother andย I both slept here…. Another thing I can’t wait to see Baby in.

We have clothes that belonged to both Steve and I. Baby has my coming home outfit and the blanket that wrapped Steve up on the way home from the hospital. There are so many memories… and I can’t wait to make fresh ones!